My Take

My Take is my comments posted on different websites - Punyatma Sharan

June 16, 2016

  • Created on Thursday, 16 June 2016 20:49
  • Published on Thursday, 16 June 2016 20:49
  • Written by Punyatma Sharan, Founder/CEO - PolityIndia.Com, has a BA (Political Science) from India and MBA (Finance) from USA.

I was talking to a very well known Journalist friend of mine yesterday and we discussed the coming UP Assembly elections...He said that all kinds of negotiations are going on for political alignments but not a single discussion is based on real issues affecting the day to day life of a commoner...We always talk about India as the largest democracy in the world...Democracy, as defined by the Oxford Dictionary, is "a system of government in which all the people of a state or polity are involved in making decisions about its affairs, typically by voting to elect representatives to a parliament or similar assembly". In plain simple English, it can be defined as One Person, One Vote...I agree with the spirit of the definition but I feel the word entails more than that...If the people get swayed away by caste, religion etc, it is a one person one vote system but it is not a perfect democracy...We have to be very aware of the Political party, the candidates and the issues and the values they represent...If we do not do our homework, most of the political parties would try to sell us garbage...The Latin word Caveat Emptor means “let the buyer beware"...We have to be very aware of what the politicians are trying to sell us...If we fail to do this, India might be known as the largest democracy in the world but I would prefer to be politically incorrect and describe India as a "Democracy - Work in Progress"...May God bless India...



Ram Nath Kovind

Ram Nath Kovind (born 1 October, 1945) is the 14th President of the Republic of India. He was sworn in as President of India on 25 July, 2017 succeeding Pranab Mukherjee.


Prime Minister

narendra modi

Narendra Modi (born 17 September, 1950) is the 15th Prime Minister of the Republic of India. He was sworn in as the Prime Minister on 26 May, 2014 succeeding Dr Manmohan Singh.


Manifesto (Congress)


2014 Elections


Manifesto (BJP)

Manifesto (AAP)